MMMM Food For Thought – Making Music

MMMM Food For Thought - Making Music

Food For Thought

It’s Marketing Mercenary’s Monday Morning, and here’s what I’m chewing on.

I recently watched an on-line video featuring a musician I know. He was playing  a gig in a small club, and it was a style of music I had not heard him play before. It was brilliant.

It got me thinking about a musician’s life. Until they’re superstars, wouldn’t most musicians have to try to find constant work (gigs), in order to make a living?

Forgive me for looking at this topic in a “perfect world” manner…I know about the possibility (or certainty) of rejection…not everyone will love your music. But music is a thing that brings joy to the giver and the receptive listener.  Ideally, making a living making music could be a thing that results in a lot of happiness.

What part of your job or vocation could be like making music? Is there some activity that brings you joy every time you do it? For me, it’s video production. I’m very good at it. I enjoy it. My clients for video production give me great feedback. I’m happy to say that video production is growing in my product mix – I’m serving more video production clients. (This is not a commercial, just my example.)

If it turns out well, and it makes others happy, or helps them in some way… shouldn’t  you do more of that?

This week, make more music. ROCK ON, my friends!

Leave a Reply

