How To Keep Up On Your Blogging

Helicopter Keeping Up with Boat Race

Can You Keep Up?

A common blog article topic usually comes forth on the InterTubes as “What to Write About When You Don’t Know What to Write About.,” or “How to Overcome Bloggers Block.” The most common suggestion I have seen is to keep a file or folder of ideas for future articles. When inspiration comes, write down as many topics or specific ideas as you can. Then, you’ll have numerous ideas for future dry spells.

You should definitely do that.

But to boost your output even more, I’m going to take a different angle on that idea today. This particular strategy takes some work, but the payoff is double, compared to the “idea bank.” I know you know I am hardly able to come to you as an “expert” in regularly updating one’s blog or other writing effort. However, I realized that I have used this technique occasionally, and will use it consistently in the months to come.

When you read my suggestion, you might object on the basis of the effort it takes. As Tony Scelzo, founder of Rainmakers, would say: It’s simple, but not easy.

It’s photography.

Already, I can hear six or seven of my 10 readers saying, “Give me a break! I’m not a photographer. And I’m not going to invest in a bunch of expensive equipment and take a 2-year course at my community college just so I can overcome writer’s block.”

Fine. You only have to make a very small purchase, and 70% of internet users (you) have already made it: A digital camera.

It's Me, Shooting Me

Shooting Mr. Obvious

“No kidding. I have to have a camera to take pictures. Thanks for the revelation, Mr. Obvious.”

That’s right. It doesn’t have to be anything fancy. You don’t need a 20 megapixel DSLR from Canon or Nikon. ANY digital camera will do, even the camera in your phone. You just have to start using it with some intent, and have a little fun with it.

At this point, you’re wondering, “Are we going to talk about writing or taking pictures?”

Yes.

I shoot a lot of photos, in the business realm and as a hobby.

Train At Crossing

Running Out of Time? You May Need An Idea

Often, I’ll just scan through a number of my folders containing my photos, and an image will spark an idea for a blog post, or connect with a half-baked idea that never made it onto my blog. Now, I have a new blog post AND a great photo to go with it. Sometimes, the image is the perfect illustration for point. Other times, the image allows me to develop an analogy to help me drive home a point, or it forces me to refine my ideas to make the analogy work. The result: a much better post.

Start using that digital camera that you carry around as a visual scratchpad of your life and your business. Soon, you’ll have a bank of visual thought-starters. You’ll also have the images to support future ideas that come from other sources. In addition, when your readers tell you how great your images complement your articles, you can say, “Yeah, I don’t steal anything from Google Images. I shoot everything myself.” You are able to stay out of copyright infringement trouble, too.

Coming Soon:  Organizational tips to keep your idea-sparking images at your fingertips, suggestions for image-editing tools that are drop-dead easy to use, and alternative to shooting your own photos.

Do you need help with this? Suggestions on subject matter? Please leave your questions in the comments area below, and thanks for reading!

8 Responses

  1. Photos are a great “spark”.

  2. nice! i get my images from wikipedia/wikimedia commons. i hope i’m doing it right because i don’t wanna be legally liable. the thing is, i don’t have a good camera and i really don’t have cash to dish out for buying one but thanks for the idea and i truly agree. it’s always better to feature images you took yourself.

    • johnnathanielfernando – There are many ways to “do it right,” and wikimedia commons is one, as long as you comply with their terms of service. And that’s pretty easy. Remember, you don’t need a “good camera.” More importantly, you need one that’s easy to use, so that you use it often. I took my first 1000 photos with a 1.3 megapixel Fujifilm digital with a 5x zoom. Actually, it took some mighty fine photos of sunsets that I still enjoy.

Leave a Reply

